Stephen Meese Photography

American Muscle in Italy

It had been a week or so since the last time I actually had something I wanted to shoot. I started to itch so I call up my buddy Watters and asked if he wanted to do a foto shoot with his newest toy, the “Wifey.” The Wifey is a brand new 2010 Dodge Charger… and she’s quite sexy. This beast of a car isn’t something you see all the time in Italy. Or most of Europe for that matter. They’re all about economy sized vehicles. Conserving space on the streets and apparently in their pants.

For most of the shots we were on some back streets on the outskirts of Vicenza. They had more traffic than they should have… especially for a Sunday. Then we moved the shoot downtown. I had him drive straight through the middle of downtown. There are so many people walking the streets that even italian drivers don’t risk it. I knew that for this very reason we had to drive straight through. Everyone was looking at us and taking pictures. his car is literally twice the size of what they drive. And a hell of a lot sexier too.

Ok. Enough of me babbling. Here is the result of our day 🙂

Watters and his Wifey

Whatever he’s doing, he looks happy 😉

My Favorite Shot!

So there you have it! My first auto foto shoot! These pictures already got a couple people who love their cars asking for shoots once I get settled in Georgia. Should be fun!

This entry was published on 31 January 2011 at 22:52 and is filed under Photography. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “American Muscle in Italy

  1. Cari on said:

    Awesome! My favs are probably #1 and 3 and the last one!

    • HEY! Thanks! My favorites are seven, four, then three. The best part was going out having fun with my buddy and taking my new 50mm prime lens. Definitely the best lenses you can get are primes. you guys might want to consider getting one. The 50mm f/1.8 is the typical lens of choice. But also consider getting the 20mm or the 35. Those are typically a bit more expensive than the 50 (the 50 coming in at just over $100) but offer a much wider view. Keep in mind the crop factor for your camera’s sensor is probably 1.6x and the 50mm would actually be closer to an 80mm. So your kit lens (I’m guessing you have one thats around 18-55mm) is more along the lines of 30-90mm. The best thing to do is look up these lenses (amazon.com) and see what people have to say about them. And even better yet, go to flickr.com (get an account if you don’t have one already) and do a search on pictures taken with a 50mm lens. I swear by mine! BTW, your camera might not have autofocus control. But that’s ok! Manual focus is a great habit!

      Ok, I’m done with my lecture 😉

Leave a Reply

